Skip to main content

On-Campus Database Links: Home

For use during librarycatalog downtimes.

On-Campus Database Links

Name Description URL Vendor Types Subjects  
African American Historical Serials The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) helped develop this full-text collection of periodicals documenting the history of African American life and religious organizations from 1829 to 1922. The titles were collected from 75 institutions. Connect to database Paid by VTS Articles - Full text "African-American Studies, Church History & History"  
Association of Religion Data Archives "contains data on denominations and congregations, survey data, resources on denominational family trees, etc., all with free open access." Connect to database Open Access   Religion and Theology  
"ATLA Historical Monographs Collection - Christian Preaching, Worship and Piety" "The ATLA Christian Preaching, Worship, and Piety, 1559-1919 collection contains 3,154 monographs that reflect how Christians lived out their faith in the form of sermons, worship, and piety.  Sermons were a primary tool for teaching moral and spiritual lessons.  The collection features over 700 texts of either individual or collected sermons from over 400 authors, including Lyman Beecher, Henry Ward Beecher, Dwight Lyman Moody, Charles Grandison Finney, Friedrich Schleiermacher, and Francis Xavier Weninger. 

 

The collection also highlights various aspects of worship and liturgy spanning Christian history from early Christian Worship to the liturgies of the ""St. Thomas Christians"" in India, to more modern baptismal and sacramental practices.  Because piety, or the reverent living of one's faith, is one aim of both preaching and worship, the collection also offers generous holdings on Christian piety and educating a person to live a life of faith.  An abundance of subjects are represented here, including prayer, apologetics, ecumenical concerns, evangelistic work, revivals, and monastic and religious orders.  Authors include J.R. Miller, A.B. Simpson, F.X. Weninger, and Adolf von Harnack.

"
Connect to database Paid by VTS eBooks Church History & History  
"ATLA Historical Monographs Collection - Missions and Missionaries Around the World, 1611-1922" "Starting May 2015, we subscribe to: The ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Missions and Missionaries Around the World, 1611-1922 which contains 2,029 monographs that tell the stories of various Christian missions and missionaries throughout the world, with focus given to the 19th and early 20th centuries. 

 

The collection features both foreign missions to over 50 countries and domestic, or ""home missions,"" within North America and Europe. 

Foreign countries in this outreach include India, China, Africa, Korea, and Japan, as well as more remote destinations such as Guyana, Tahiti, and the Marquesas Islands.  Domestic ""home"" missions include missions to Native Americans as well as outreach within the UK and Germany.  Prominent missionary organizations include American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions and the China Inland Mission.  Prominent authors include Morris Officer, Robert E. Speer, Adrien Launay, and St. Francis Xavier.  Many Christian traditions are featured in the collection, including the Catholic Church, Presbyterian Church in the USA, Lutheran Church, Orthodox Church.

"
Connect to database Paid by VTS eBooks Church History & History  
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials "The ATLA Religion database provides very comprehensive access to full-text journal articles, essays, and book reviews in religion and theology. The ATLA Religion database has articles from the 19th century to the present, although indexing lags about 6 months from the current year. Coverage: 2 million records, including 640,000 journal records.
Look for "Choose databases by Subject" link to search multiple EBSCO databases at one time. Tutorials on scripture searching "
Connect to database Paid by VTS "Articles - Full text, Book Reviews" "Religion and Theology, Biblical Studies"  
ATLA Serials for Alumni   Connect to database Paid by VTS Articles - Full text "Religion and Theology, Biblical Studies"  
Book of Common Prayer   Connect to database Open Access   "Episcopal, Liturgy"  
Call to Common Mission   Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology "This ecumenical, international encyclopedia ""is an essential reference resource for scholars of global hymnody, with information on the hymns of many countries and languages, and a strong emphasis on the historical as well as the contemporary. It will be of interest to literary scholars, musicians, church historians, and theologians, and a delight for those who love the hymn as an art form." Connect to database Paid by VTS "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" "Religion and Theology, Music"  
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index "Catholic Periodical Index provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism CPLI contains indexing from 1981 to the present" Connect to database Paid by VTS Article indexes "Religion and Theology, Biblical Studies"  
Center for Applied Christian Ethics "The Center for Applied Christian Ethics promotes and encourages the formation of moral character and the application of biblical ethics to contemporary moral decisions.
(accessed 11/2013)"
Connect to database Open Access   Ethics  
Center for Christian Ethics The Center for Christian Ethic's primary goal is to encourage church members to think with a Christian mind about the ethical issues of our society today. (accessed 11/2013). Connect to database Open Access   Ethics  
Chicago Manual of Style Online "The definitive guide to creating citations and bibliographies in University of Chicago format, available full-text online." Connect to database Paid by VTS Research Aids Broad/General Subject Coverage  
Classic Sermon Index "This database indexes over 52000 historic sermons by author, title, primary biblical text, and date. It includes topical indexing for over 20,000 of the sermons. Citations are hyperlinked to full text for 75% of the content." Connect to database Paid by VTS Article indexes "Religion and Theology, Homiletics, Biblical Studies"  
Classic Texts in Ethics The University of San Diego has gathered many major works in the history of ethics that are now available online. (accessed 11/2013) Connect to database Open Access eBooks Ethics  
Constitutions and Canons Constitutions and Canons from 2012 General Convention. Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
Digital Karl Barth Library "This resource includes The Church Dogmatics in English and the original German, as well as the first 45 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings." Connect to database Paid by VTS eBooks Religion and Theology  
Dioceses and Parishes in the Episcopal Church Links to diocesan and parish internet sites in the Episcopal Church Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
ebrary Academic Complete "Proquest's ""ebrary"" product provides an Academic Complete collection with over 88,000 scholarly books on all subjects, over 8200 of which are religion and theology titles. The same software - Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader - is required for downloading ebooks as is used for EBSCO ebooks." Connect to database Paid by VTS eBooks "Religion and Theology, Broad/General Subject Coverage"  
"ebrary Virtual ""Reference Collection""" "searches for dictionaries, handbooks, and encyclopedias on all subjects." Connect to database Paid by VTS eBooks Broad/General Subject Coverage  
EBSCO Ebook Collections "VTS subscribes to several EBSCO ebook collections: the Academic Complete collection contains over 160,000 scholarly books on all subjects. In addition to religion and theology content in the ""complete"" set, as of March 2015, we have access to the Religion Collection which provides 3000 additional titles." Connect to database Paid by VTS eBooks "Religion and Theology, Broad/General Subject Coverage"  
EBSCO Religion and Philosophy Collection "Ebsco Religion includes very timely coverage of recent full-text religion articles from 300 journals. It is supplementary to ATLA RDB, but can be searched simultaneously." Connect to database Paid by VTS Articles - Full text Religion and Theology  
Encyclopedia Britannica Encyclopaedia Britannica is a comprehensive general encyclopedia with full-text articles and links to recommended websites on every topic Connect to database Paid by VTS "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" Broad/General Subject Coverage  
Episcopal Church Annual Site contains portions of the print version of the Episcopal Church Annual. Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
Episcopal Church in the USA The official website of the Episcopal Church in the USA. Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
Episcopal Clergy Directory Directory of Episcopal clergy. Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
Episcopal Diocese Websites Search "This is a Google Custom Search Engine to search the websites of Episcopal Church dioceses in the U.S. Maintained by Bishop Payne Library, VTS." Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
Episcopal News Service Latest news releases from the Episcopal Church USA Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
ERIC This database produced by the U.S. Dept. of Education provides indexing of peer-reviewed journals and other news sources in education with links to full-text where available. It also includes the full-text of individual documents submitted by their authors for inclusion in this comprehensive resource. Connect to database Open Access Articles - Full text Education  
Ethics and Public Policy Center Washington D.C.'s premier institute dedicated to applying the Judeo-Christian moral tradition to critical issues of public policy. (accessed 11/2013) Connect to database Open Access   Ethics  
GlobEthics.net - Library on Ethics and Theology "The Globethics.net Libraries are digital libraries that offer registered users electronic access free-of-charge to thousands of full-text documents on ethics and related disciplines. Participants also have the possibility to submit their own documents to the libraries.
4,250,000 Fulltext documents are available in the Globethics.net Libraries (GlobeEthicsLib and GlobeTheoLib)"
Connect to database Open Access "Articles - Full text, eBooks" Ethics  
Google Scholar "Another source of article citations in all subject areas, Google Scholar is freely available. Links to open access copies of the full text are noted on the right column where these have been identified by Google. Links labeled ""Get This Item at VTS"" allow you to search VTS' periodical holdings to determine if we hold it in print or electronic form." Connect to database Open Access "Articles - Full text, Article indexes, eBooks" Broad/General Subject Coverage  
JSTOR Religion and Arts and Sciences III Collections "VTS' JSTOR subscription includes the Religion and Theology and Arts & Sciences III collections. These offer full-text electronic access to over 320 academic journals in religion, languages and literature, music, film studies, folklore, feminist & women's studies, performing arts, and the history and study of art and architecture. Because JSTOR’s mission is archival, there is a gap, typically from one to five years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available." Connect to database Paid by VTS "Articles - Full text, Article indexes" "Religion and Theology, Broad/General Subject Coverage"  
"Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts" Indexing of over 600 titles. Connect to database Open Access Article indexes Library and information Science and Technology  
New Testament Abstracts "An electronic collection of abstracts of articles, reviews, and software and more than 18,900 book summaries related to New Testament studies" Connect to database Paid by VTS Article indexes "Religion and Theology, Biblical Studies"  
Old Testament Abstracts "An electronic collection of abstracts of articles, essays, and software and more than 7,900 book summaries related to Old Testament studies" Connect to database Paid by VTS Article indexes "Religion and Theology, Biblical Studies"  
"Online databases and indexes to citations, quotations, etc." "Search the Catalog for online databases and indexes to citations, quotations, etc. on topics in religion" Connect to database Open Access "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" Religion and Theology  
OpenDOAR - Open Directory of Academic Repositories "The documents in this database are searchable within Google Scholar, but sometimes you will want to search within specific repositories or find repositories by country or institution. Open Access means this is especially useful for developing countries and others with fewer paid subscription resources." Connect to database Open Access "Articles - Full text, Article indexes" Broad/General Subject Coverage  
Oxford African American Studies Center "This database provides a comprehensive collection of materials on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture, including primary source documents, articles, images, charts, maps, and tables. " Connect to database Paid by VTS "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" "African-American Studies, Church History & History"  
Oxford Biblical Studies Online "Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history.
View the publisher's description.
See details on the Bible texts and corollary Bible study materials available within the site."
Connect to database Paid by VTS "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi, eBooks" "Religion and Theology, Biblical Studies"  
Oxford Bibliographies - Biblical Studies OBO offers annotated bibliographies of the best resources on topics in Biblical Studies. Contributors include VTS' Stephen L. Cook and John Yieh. Connect to database Paid by VTS "Article indexes, Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" "Religion and Theology, Biblical Studies"  
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography "58,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century." Connect to database   "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" "Biography and History, Broad/General Subject Coverage, Church History & History"  
Oxford English Dictionary "A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form." Connect to database Paid by VTS "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" "English Language and Literature, Broad/General Subject Coverage"  
Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online provides full-text resources for music research including full-text articles and biographies from the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Connect to database Paid by VTS "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" Music  
Proquest Religion Database "ProQuest Religion provides indexing and full-text articles from 90 journals, magazines and newspapers in the field of religion. Coverage is 1986 - present, and indexing is very current." Connect to database Paid by VTS Articles - Full text Religion and Theology  
PsycArticles Full text of articles on psychology and counseling from the American Psychological Association. Connect to database Paid by VTS Articles - Full text Psychology  
RefWorks "RefWorks is a bibliography manager that allows you to create your own personal database of citations by importing references from text files or online databases. The first time that you use this software, you must establish a personal account. Ask the librarian for the group code, then go to the Getting Started tab of this RefWorks Guide and Tutorial." Connect to database Paid by VTS Research Aids    
Refworks (New Proquest version) "Create a new account here (this link is on the VTS domain). If you are a prior user of Refworks.com, you can export your citations from the old Refworks and import into New Refworks." Connect to database Paid by VTS Research Aids    
Research in Ministry "This database indexes Doctor of Ministry and Doctor of Missiology theses from schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools. Indexing began in 1981. Author, title, project advisor, institution, abstract and subject access are provided. Remote access is available to all." Connect to database Open Access Theses and Dissertations "Religion and Theology, Theses"  
Society of Christian Ethics The purpose of this society is to promote scholarly work in the field of Christian ethics and its relation to the wider field of ethics. (accessed 11/2013) Connect to database Open Access   Ethics  
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy On-line encyclopedia that offers detailed articles on philosophical terms and thinkers. (accessed 11/2013) Connect to database Open Access "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" Philosophy  
Sundays and Seasons Online Sundays and Seasons provides full-text liturgical resources from the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. Access is restricted to the VTS community. Please contact the library at paynelib@vts.edu or Mitzi Budde at mbudde@vts.edu for login information. Connect to database Paid by VTS "Article indexes, Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" "Liturgy, Homiletics"  
The Archives of the Episcopal Church The official national repository of the Episcopal Church. Connect to database Open Access   Episcopal  
The Text This Week "See this ATLA introduction to the Text This Week website of lectionary resources." Connect to database Open Access "Article indexes, Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" "Liturgy, Homiletics"  
Thirty-nine Articles of Religion   Connect to database Open Access      
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume 1 - Christianity "This ebook collection includes English-language editions of works from R. Niebuhr, Bonhoeffer, von Baltasar, Harnack, Pannenberg, Gutierrez and others. It is cross-searchable with the Digital Karl Barth Library" Connect to database Paid by VTS eBooks Religion and Theology  
Umbra A freely available online search tool that brings together digitized materials from US libraries and repositories that document African American history and culture. Connect to database Open Access "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" African-American Studies  
VTS Electronic Theses via ebrary DASH! "In 2015, BPL began publishing VTS theses online where authors gave permission to use an electronic copy of their thesis. Electronic theses are now accessible Internet-wide. If you wish to have your thesis published in this collection, contact our E-Services Librarian, Cindy Harper." Connect to database Paid by VTS "eBooks, Theses and Dissertations" "Religion and Theology, Theses"  
VTS Open-access resources on ebrary DASH! "BPL offers selected e-texts, either scanned from public domain copies, or born-digital documents, for open access to the VTS community and externally." Connect to database Open Access eBooks "Religion and Theology, Broad/General Subject Coverage"  
Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion. "A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion, including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software. The purpose of the Guide is to encourage and facilitate the incorporation of electronic resources into teaching." Connect to database Open Access "Reference - Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedi" Religion and Theology  
WorldCat "A world-wide bibliographic database compiling the holdings of thousands of libraries. VTS patrons can use WorldCat to place electronic interlibrary loan requests. Includes ArticleFirst, a source of article citations on a wide range of subjects." Connect to database Open Access Library Catalogs Broad/General Subject Coverage  
Worldcat Discovery (in Beta testing) This is the new interface of the OCLC Worldcat library union catalog including one-stop shopping of ebooks and a portion of our article databases. It provides faceted searching for narrowing down your results. Connect to database Paid by VTS Library Catalogs Broad/General Subject Coverage