Skip to main content

Oxford Bibliographies : Biblical Studies - Tips for Searching: Home

Quick tips for navigating the new OBO - Biblical Studies database.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Biblical Studies

BPL subscribes to the Biblical Studies portion of the Oxford collection Oxford Bibliographies Online. Do not confuse this set of bibliographies with the Oxford Biblical Studies Online database, even though their titles are so similar. BPL also subscribes to that set of online commentaries.  This database has bibliographies of the current scholarship on many subjects in biblical studies, from scholars including VTS professors Stephen Cook and John Yieh.

Access the OBO - Biblical Studies database here.

Use Advanced Search

Advanced search allows you to search by Article Title and Author, Citation Title and Author, Full Text, or type of resource.

To browse articles by subject, click the Browse by Subject link and choose Biblical Studies.  This will give you an alphabetical list of all articles (currently 112), which can orient you to what's covered in this resource.

Locating Cited Resources

Citations in Oxford Bibliographies appear with a "Find this resource" link.  Click the + sign to expand these options.

The GET IT from VTS!  link gives the option to find the resource through the library catalog at VTS.

This link takes you to a "link resolver" to help you find the resource.

Link resolver - BOOKS

For books and articles within books, the link resolver offers to search the library catalog by author and title.  Choose the "BPL Book Collections" link to continue.

  --->  

Link resolver - ARTICLES

Example:

Powell, Mark Allan. “A Typology of Worship in the Gospel of Matthew.” Journal for the Study of the New Testament 17.57 (1995): 3–17.

DOI: 10.1177/0142064X9501705701  Save Citation »Export Citation »E-mail Citation »

Draws attention to the way Matthew prefigures Christian worship in the way people are depicted responding to Jesus. Available online for purchase or by subscription.

For articles, the link resolver will tell you what print and electronic collections hold that title, and what dates are included.

Choose the link for a resource to look for the journal in that collection.


In this case, full text is found in the ATLA collection, the EBSCO Religion and Philosophy collection, and in the BPL Print Holdings. Select an e-resource whose dates of coverage contain your article. The electronic full-text link will take you right to the article full text.

The link resolver always offers a Google Scholar link to look for possible open access to a journal, in case BPL has no holdings for the item. VTS community members can also request the article through interlibrary loan.

Subject Guide

Cindy Harper's picture
Cindy Harper
Electronic Services and Periodicals Librarian
I'm glad to help with any questions you have about our electronic resources and more.
Contact:
Bishop Payne Library
703-461-1794