Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biblical Interpretation Resources

A guide for students and researchers interpreting biblical texts. This guide includes original language resources, exegetical tools, and guidance on scholarly commentary and interpretation.

Biblical Studies-Themed Journals

Scholarly journals comprise the full-range of subjects within biblical studies. Journal articles are individual essays on specific topics; in this case, many journal articles contain particular scholar's interpretations of various biblical texts, argue for the plausibility of various meanings, or guide readers on the issues at stake in studying the Bible.

Basic Searching

Use the ATLA search box from the library catalog home page. Use keywords to find articles on your topic, or type in a specific scripture pericope for more defined results. You may also perform an advanced search or limit your results (from the results page) by language, publication date, type of material, etc. These limiting options help you filter out the noise. 

 

Search by Scripture Citation

The ATLA Religion Database provides the option to search for articles indexed by a specific scripture citation. Navigate to the "Advanced Search" screen, and then choose "scriptures" from the menu at the top of the page (see video below). From there, choose a particular book (click "expand"), chapter ("expand") and verse to search for articles containing those references. You can then further limit your search by entering keywords into the additional search boxes.

View the tutorial below for a walkthrough of the process:

 


Searching by Journal

The journals below are top-tier scholarly publications. Each article contained within can be expected to be of high-quality, rigorously peer-reviewed, and significant to their subject area.

How to Access

These journals are part of the Library's electronic databases. The links below direct you to Browzine which contains the table of contents for each issue. If you're looking for articles published in these journals on a particular topic, the best way to find them is to use the ATLA search box from the library catalog home page, and perform an advanced search. Then, type the journal-title in the journal-title field (or at the top, and limit by "source"), and do a keyword search as usual. This will limit results to that particular journal.

(learn more about finding and using journals here)

Old and New Testament Focus

Journal of Biblical Literature

 JBL is the flagship journal in Biblical studies. It contains what the editors deem to be the highest quality contributions to the field. It covers a range of disciplinary and theological perspectives.

--

Catholic Biblical Quarterly

The CBQ is, as its name suggests, a Catholic publication of articles in Biblical studies. While the theological perspective is particular, the articles are broad and useful to researches of all stripes.

--

Currents in Biblical Research

CBR publishes articles across the range of Biblical studies. Unique to this journal, each article contains extensive bibliographies designed to help the reader investigate the topic further.

Old Testament Focus

Journal for the Study of the Old Testament

JSOT publishes articles from a variety of scholarly methodologies and perspectives. It is known to have introduced new approaches to scripture throughout its history.

--

Vestus Testamentum

VT covers the whole range of Old Testament Studies, from pericope interpretation to issues relating to archaeology and the history of the Ancient Near East.

New Testament Focus

Journal for the Study of the New Testament

From the publisher's website description: "All the many and diverse aspects of New Testament study are represented and promoted by JSNT, including innovative work from historical perspectives, studies using social-scientific and literary theory or developing theological, cultural and contextual approaches."

--

Novum Testamentum

NT publishes articles in the areas of exegesis but also articles that situate the New Testament in the context of early Christian literature, Graeco-Roman society, and Jewish literature of the time period.

--

New Testament Studies

NTS is an international journal which publishes articles in multiple languages across the disciplines of New Testament study.