Skip to main content

Center for Liturgy and Music: CLM Book Collection

These books have been collected for the collection at the Center for Liturgy and Music. Bishop Payne Library may also have circulating copies.

Click on a column header to sort by that column; click again to toggle to descending sort.

ISBNs link to a search of the Bishop Payne Library catalog for circulating copies.

 

Title Author Publisher Date ISBN Synopsis
A Theology of Worship Weil, Louis Lanham, MD: Cowley Publications. 2002 9781561011940 Part of the New Church's Teaching series, this text explores the foundations of Anglican liturgy and worship, arguing for a reclamation of the role of the laity to serve alongside the ordained as ministers and celebrants of the liturgy.
The Origins of the Liturgical Year Talley, Thomas J. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press 1986 9780814660751 A detailed historical survey of the liturgical year within the Christian tradition, especially as the major feasts of the Church year developed within Christian practice.
Ministry with the Sick   New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2005 9780898694789 A hardcover, pocket-size edition containing rites for ministry to the sick, including material from the Book of Common Prayer and Enriching Our Worship 2. It is particularly useful for clergy visiting parishioners at home or in the hospital.
Preaching without Notes Webb, Joseph M. Nashville: Abingdon Press 2001 9780687090884 A guide for systematically planning sermons to be delivered without notes, including steps on creating easily memorizable outlines.
Preaching and the Literary Forms of the Bible Long, Thomas G. Minneapolis: Fortress Press 1989 9780800623135 Long explains how the various literary forms of the Bible are instrumental in shaping sermons on such texts. The forms covered are psalms, proverbs, narratives, parables of Jesus, and epistles. This text could also be useful for those training to read Scripture in public.
Concise Encyclopedia of Preaching Willimon, William H. and Richard Lischer, eds. Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press 1995 0664227236 Hailed as the most comprehensive reference work on Christian preaching available in the English language, with entries from nearly 200 contributors on a wide variety of topics related to preaching.
Pastoral and Occasional Liturgies: A Ceremonial Guide Mitchell, Leonel L. Lanham, MD: Cowley Publications. 1998 9781561011582 A helpful guide for fleshing out the rubrics for liturgies in the Book of Common Prayer. Liturgies include the Daily Office, seasonal liturgies (e.g., lessons and carols, blessing of the creche, etc.), pastoral offices, and episcopal services.
The Cup of Salvation: A Manual for Eucharistic Ministers Ely, Beth Wickenburg New York: Morehouse Publishing 2012 9780819228147 An essential practical guide for all those who serve as eucharistic ministers. It contains information on the theology behind the Eucharist, as well as practice hints for various situations encountered in ministering Communion.
Ministry with the Sick or Dying/Burial of a Child Standing Commission on Liturgy and Music New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2000 9780898693430 Supplemental liturgical materials to the Book of Common Prayer 1979, with an emphasis on updated situations due to changing medical technology (e.g., removal of life support) and expansive language.
Lutheran Book of Worship   Minneapolis: Augsburg Publishing House 1978 9780800633301 Hymnal and prayer book prepared by churches participating in the Inter-Lutheran Commission on Worship.
Burial Rites for Adults Together with a Rite for the Burial of a Child Standing Commission on Liturgy and Music New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2007 9780898695397 An expansion of liturgical rites available in the 1979 BCP, including circumstances such as suicide, the death of a child, and death in the midst of an interfaith family. The back includes suggested music for different liturgies.
Deacons in the Liturgy (2nd ed.) Plater, Ormonde New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2009 9780898696349 A practical guide for anyone serving as a deacon in the Episcopal Church, with an emphasis on participation in liturgical rites.
The New Altar Guild Book Gent, Barbara and Betty Sturges New York: Morehouse Publishing 1996 9780819216571 A useful, practical guide for those preparing the altar and church for worship. Chapters include information on decorating, setting the Table, types of vestments, and dealing with Eucharistic vessels.
Liturgy for Living Price, Charles P. and Louis Weil New York: Morehouse Publishing 1979 9780819218629 A detailed study of the history, theology, and spirituality related to Anglican liturgy and the Book of Common Prayer of the Episcopal Church. At the back, there is a useful glossary of liturgical terms.
Strong, Loving, and Wise: Presiding in Liturgy Hovda, Robert W. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press 1976 0814612539 A concise but useful guide to presiding in the liturgy, written from a post-Vatican II perspective. Particular emphasis is given to reverence and prayerfulness while presiding in the liturgy.
The Plainsong Psalter Litton, James, ed. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1988 9780898691627 Plainsong settings of the entire psalter, with appropriate antiphons, for congregational and choral use.
The Anglican Chant Psalter Wyton, Alec, ed. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1987 9780898691351 Anglican Chant settings of the entire psalter for congregational and choral use.
A Priest's Handbook: The Ceremonies of the Church (3rd ed.) Michno, Dennis G. New York: Morehouse Publishing 1998 9780819217684 A useful guide for priests in the Episcopal Church, including information on presiding for numerous liturgies from the Book of Common Prayer. The book also has information on coordinating liturgies not elaborated on in the BCP.
The Book of Occasional Services (2003)   New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2004 9780898694093 Rites to supplement the Book of Common Prayer. Some rites included are in Spanish and French.
I Will Bless You and You Will Be a Blessing (revised and expanded edition)   New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2015 9780898699487 This resources dates from 2012 when the General Convention of the Episcopal Church offered it for study and use. This expanded edition includes reflections by various scholars, and theological and study resources around the issue of same-sex marriage and blessings. Included also is a gender-neutral adaptation of the marriage rite, for trial use.
A Manual for Acolytes: The Duties of the Server at Liturgical Celebrations Michno, Dennis G. New York: Morehouse Publishing 1981 9780819212726 A short, simple, and practical guide for acolytes within the Episcopal tradition.
The HarperCollins Bible Pronunciation Guide Walker, William O. New York: HarperCollins 1989 9780060689629 An essential guide for readers of Scripture in public. Includes pronunciation guides for over 7,000 biblical names and terms, as well as some non-biblical words used in biblical study.
Commentary on the American Prayer Book Hatchett, Marion J. New York: HarperCollins 1995 9780060635541 Detailed explanations of the various parts of the Book of Common Prayer 1979.
Praying Shapes Believing: A Theological Commentary on the Book of Common Prayer Mitchell, Leonel L. Minneapolis: Winston Press 1985 086683494X A theological study of the 1979 Book of Common Prayer.
The Ceremonies of the Eucharist: A Guide to Celebration Galley, Howard E. Lanham, MD: Cowley Publications. 1989 9780936384832 This guide is intended to set forth a practical ceremonial usage for principal celebrations of the Holy Eucharist in medium-sized Episcopal churches. The guide is also useful for non-clergy, especially those who plan and participate in liturgies of the Church.
This Is the Night: Suffering, Salvation, and the Liturgies of Holy Week Farwell, James New York: T & T Clark International 2005 9780567027603 An exploration of the rites of Holy Week, with a connection to the realities of suffering and sin in the modern world.
Primary Sources of Liturgical Theology: A Reader Vogel, Dwight, ed. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press 2002 9780814661789 Various writings on liturgy from a number of authors, with introductions by noted liturgical scholars.
Liturgical Spirituality: Anglican Reflections on the Church's Prayer Burns, Stephen, ed. New York: Seabury Books 2013 9781596272545 Part of the Weil Series in Liturgics, this volume is a compilation of chapters written by numerous liturgical scholars. It is divided into three topical parts: moods of prayer, sacramental actions, and seasons of celebration.
A Celtic Eucharist O'Malley, Brendan New York: Morehouse Publishing 2002 9780819218964 Using Scripture, Irish, Scottish, and Welsh traditions, as well as contemporary spirituality, O'Malley outlines an original service speaking to both past and present. The form of the Eucharist governs the service's structure.
Transforming Preaching Hooke, Ruthanna B. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2010 9780898696462 This book explores the spirituality of preaching, as well as the use of the body and breath in preaching. It includes interviews with numerous notable preachers within the Episcopal Church.
Great Paschal Vespers Mason, Monte and Larry Reynolds New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2002 0898693756 A rite with printed music and CD-ROM of Great Paschal Vespers an ancient stational liturgy for Easter Week. This version is designed for use any day during the Easter season.
Lent, Holy Week, Easter, and the Great Fifty Days: A Ceremonial Guide Mitchell, Leonel L. Lanham, MD: Cowley Publications. 1996 9781561011346 A helpful guide that fleshes out the rubrics of the Book of Common Prayer and elaborates on ceremonial and ritual specifics for the liturgies of Lent, Holy Week, Easter, and the Great 50 Days.
Enriching Our Worship 1 Standing Liturgical Commission of the Episcopal Church New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1998 089869275X Supplemental liturgical materials prepared by the Standing Liturgical Commission for Morning and Evening Prayer, the Great Litany, and the Holy Eucharist. Musical graphics are included at the back.
Sunday by Sunday: Music for the Second Service Lectionary Harrison, Anne, John Henderson, Peter Moger, and David Ogden Norwich, UK: Canterbury Press 2008 9781853118401 Musical suggestions for liturgies using the Second Service Lectionary (3-year cycle). Selections include hymns, anthems and vocal music, and organ music, as well as songs for children.
The Preaching Life: Living Out Your Vocation Taylor, Barbara Brown Norwich, UK: Canterbury Press 2013 9781848253186 Reflections on the vocation of preaching by one of the most renowned preachers in the United States.
A Field Guide to Contemporary Worship: How to Begin and Lead Band-based Worship Boesenecker, Andy, and Jim Graeser Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2011 9780806695907 Guide for planning praise, team-led worship. Written by a pastor and music leader.
A Field of Voices: Hymns for Worship Clemens, James E. and David Wright New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2010 9780898696530 30 newly-composed hymns to fresh poetry in a variety of styles. A number of the hymns can be sung in a paperless fashion and others utilize accompaniment.
A Hymn Tune Psalter: Book One (Gradual Psalms: Advent through the Day of Pentecost) Daw, Carl P., Jr., and Kevin R. Hackett New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2007 9780898695588 Conforming to the Revised Common Lectionary, this resource includes responsorial psalmody for congregation and cantor/choir, psalms and antiphons, congregational antiphon tunes based on familiar hymns, and psalm verses set to simplified Anglican chant. There is also an appendix of Antiphons for cut-and-paste copying, as well as digital files.
A Hymn Tune Psalter: Book Two (Gradual Psalms: The Season after Pentecost) Daw, Carl P., Jr., and Kevin R. Hackett New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2008 9780898695731 Conforming to the Revised Common Lectionary, this resource includes responsorial psalmody for congregation and cantor/choir, psalms and antiphons, congregational antiphon tunes based on familiar hymns, and psalm verses set to simplified Anglican chant. There is also an appendix of antiphons for cut-and-paste copying, as well as digital files.
A Liturgical Index to The Hymnal 1982 Hatchett, Marion J. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1986 9780898691313 Planning resource for choosing hymns from The Hymnal 1982 for all Sundays and Holy Days in the 3-year BCP lectionary. Hymn choices for the Daily Office are also included.
A Scriptural Index to The Hymnal 1982 Hatchett, Marion J. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1988 089869146X Designed to aid planning according to Scriptural references in conjunction with The Hymnal 1982.
Admirable Simplicity: Principles for Worship Planning in the Anglican Tradition Smith, George Wayne New York: The Church Hymnal Corporation 1996 089869261X A handbook for worship planning in the Episcopal Church. Includes chapters on the Daily Office, Baptism and Confirmation, the Eucharist, and the Pastoral Offices.
All Things Necessary: A Practice Guide for Episcopal Church Musicians Rideout, Marti New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2012 9780898696523 A comprehensive guide for the parish musician that could serve as a means of enriching an understanding of music ministry as well as a helpful go-to source. Chapters cover the Episcopal Church, the BCP, various hymnals, rubrics, the Daily Offices, psalm singing, the sacraments, and music planning.
An Organist's Guide to Resources for The Hymnal 1982 Schmidt, Dennis, compiler New York: The Church Hymnal Corporation 1987 9780898691511 Suggestions for organ repertoire, free accompaniments, descants, and organ settings based on hymns in The Hymnal 1982. Lists of publishers and a bibliography are also included.
An Organist's Guide to Resources for The Hymnal 1982, vol. 2 Schmidt, Dennis, compiler New York: The Church Hymnal Corporation 1991 9780898691924 Suggestions for organ repertoire, free accompaniments, descants, and organ settings based on hymns in The Hymnal 1982. Lists of publishers and a bibliography are also included. Supplement to vol. 1
Ancient-Future Worship: Proclaiming and Enacting God's Narrative Webber, Robert E. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books 2008 9780801066245 The final volume in Webber's Ancient-Future series. Looking at ancient worship practices, Webber calls for a fresh and inspired take on worship in the Church today.
As We Gather to Pray: An Episcopal Guide to Worship Haskel, Marilyn, and Clayton Morris, eds. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1996 9780898692228 Practical articles, written by various voices, on Episcopal worship. Topics include leadership, style, worship, hymnody, language, space, the arts, dance, preaching, and small congregations.
Baptism and Ministry: Liturgical Studies One Meyers, Ruth, ed.; for the Standing Liturgical Commission of the Episcopal Church New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1994 9780898692419 A series of six essays written by various authors under the auspices of the Standing Liturgical Commission of the Episcopal Church. This text examines the shift in understanding of baptism with Christian churches in the twentieth century.
Better Get It in Your Soul: What Liturgists Can Learn from Jazz Hamilton, Reid and Stephen Rush New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2008 9780898695748 Planning guide for fusion worship and musical styles. Written by an Episcopal priest and a music director team, innovative and creative ways of engaging local communities in alternative worship are explored.
Breaking the Word: Essays on the Liturgical Dimensions of Preaching Daw, Carl P., Jr., ed. New York: The Church Hymnal Corporation 1994 0898692105 A collection of essays by 17 preachers. Topics include the art and history of preaching, as well as technical and strategical suggestions for preparing sermons in a variety of liturgical circumstances.
Celebrating Liturgical Time: Days, Weeks, and Seasons Alexander, J. Neil New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2014 9780898698732 A commentary and ceremonial guide to those portions of the Episcopal 1979 BCP that deal with time. It is a celebration of sacred time as shaped by the Book of Common Prayer 1979.
Celebrating the Eucharist: A Practical Ceremonial Guide for Clergy and Other Liturgical Ministers Malloy, Patrick New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2007 9780898695625 A modern liturgical customary for the Episcopal Church that attempts to understand the rationale behind the Eucharist and its ceremonial acts. Helpful drawings enliven Malloy's descriptions of ritual actions.
Central Things: Worship in Word and Sacrament Lathrop, Gordon W. Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2005 9780806651637 A part of the Lutheran series on Worship Matters. Lathrop looks at what worship in word and sacrament really is, as well as why it is important.
Church Music in the United States: 1760-1901 Music, David W. and Paul Westermeyer St. Louis: MorningStar Music Publishers, Inc. 2014 9780944529638 A set of twelve essays on church music in the United States from the mid-18th century until the end of the 19th century. Topics range from early American folk hymnody to Anglican church music to Roman Catholic experiences.
Come, Beloved of the Maker: Hymns of Susan Palo Cherwien, vol. 2 Cherwien, Susan Palo Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2010 9780806698090 35 hymns that cover the entire church year. Useful for congregational song as well as for composers looking for texts to set in music.
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion (Liturgies for Year B, Vol. 1, Advent through Pentecost) Bracken, Long, ed. Louisville: Westminster/John Knox Press 2014 9780664238049 Liturgical pieces used for worship preparation written and compiled by 7 members of an ecumenical team. Prayers and responsive readings for worship are included, as well as a CD-ROM for cutting and pasting material into worship bulletins.
Feasting on the Word: Worship Companion (Liturgies for Year B, Vol. 2, Trinity Sunday through Reign of Christ) Long, Kimberly Bracken Louisville: Westminster/John Knox Press 2015 9780664260385 Liturgical pieces used for worship preparation written and compiled by 7 members of an ecumenical team. Prayers and responsive readings for worship are included, as well as a CD-ROM for cutting and pasting material into worship bulletins.
Five Wheels to Successful Sight-singing: A Practical Approach to Teach Children (and Adults) to Read Music Bertalot, John Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 1993 0806626925 A look at teaching sight-singing through five principles and twelve steps. Written in a narrative style with wit and humor and musical examples.
From Glory into Glory: Reflections for Worship Cherwien, Susan Palo Fenton, Missouri: MorningStar 2009 9780944529485 A series of meditations originally intended to be read aloud in hymn-festivals. The meditations are written in the form of poetry, although not intended to be such.
From Postlude to Prelude: Music Ministry's Other Six Days Bradley, C. Randall St. Louis: MorningStar Music Publishers, Inc. 2004 0944529364 A practical guide on church music administration. Topics include avoiding burnout, recruiting volunteers, staff relationships, vocational issues, choir officers, communcation, delegating, budgeting, fundraising, purchasing, leadership, and the music library.
Getting the Word Out: A Handbook for Readers Hoyer, Christopher George Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2013 9781451478075 A part of the Lutheran series on Worship Matters. A short, basic guide to public reading, with a helpful section on pronunciation of Biblical places and names.
Holy Things: A Liturgical Theology Lathrop, Gordon W. Minneapolis: Fortress Press 1993 9780800631314 An examination of the patterns, experience, and application of Christians in the liturgy. Lathrop writes from a catholic Lutheran perspective.
Holy Women, Holy Men: Celebrating the Saints NA New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2010 9780898696370 A supplement to the Episcopal Church's calendar of saints in the 1979 BCP. Approved for trial use by General Convention in 2009.
Hymn Playing: A Modern Colloquium Forster, Stuart St. Louis: MorningStar Music Publishers, Inc. 2013 9780944529607 A conversation on different aspects of hymn playing through a series of chapters. Eleven notable church musicians offer their own perspectives throughout the volume.
Hymnal Studies Three: Teaching Music in Small Churches Keiser, Marilyn New York: The Church Pension Fund 1983 0898691028 Part of the Episcopal Church's Hymnal Studies series, this book is a short, practical guide for leading song in small parishes.
Intercessions for the Christian People Ramshaw, Gail, ed. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press 1988 9780814660911 Prayers of the people for lectionary cycles A, B, and C, related to the Episcopal, Roman Catholic, and Lutheran churches.
Leading the Church's Song Various Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 1998 9780806635910 A resource that addresses the great variety and complexity in church music today. 20 different musical/liturgical voices are included in the book's discussions on various topics. A CD is included.
Lessons Learned: Practical Insights into Developing an Effective Adult or Student Choir Ministry Edwards, Randy St. Louis: MorningStar Music Publishers, Inc. 2012 9780944529560 A short practical guide on youth and adult music ministries. A focus is on the director's ability to be a spiritual leader and inspirer for those under his/her leadership.
Lift Every Voice and Sing II: An African American Hymnal   New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1993 9780898692396 Accompaniment edition.
Liturgical Music for the Revised Common Lectionary (Year A) Daw, Carl P., Jr., and Thomas Pavlechko New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2007 9780898695564 Planning resource according to the Revised Common Lectionary. Includes hymn, anthem, and music suggestions with reference to The Hymnal 1982; Lift Every Voice and Sing; Wonder, Love, and Praise; Voices Found; and My Heart Sings Out.
Liturgical Music for the Revised Common Lectionary (Year B) Daw, Carl P., Jr., and Thomas Pavlechko New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2008 9780898695892 Planning resource according to the Revised Common Lectionary. Includes hymn, anthem, and music suggestions with reference to The Hymnal 1982; Lift Every Voice and Sing; Wonder, Love, and Praise; Voices Found; and My Heart Sings Out.
Liturgical Music for the Revised Common Lectionary (Year C) Daw, Carl P., Jr., and Thomas Pavlechko New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2009 9780898696141 Planning resource according to the Revised Common Lectionary. Includes hymn, anthem, and music suggestions with reference to The Hymnal 1982; Lift Every Voice and Sing; Wonder, Love, and Praise; Voices Found; and My Heart Sings Out.
Liturgical Sense: The Logic of Rite Weil, Louis New York: Seabury Books 2013 9781596272439 An examination of the logic and thought behind ritual and liturgy. This book would be useful for those who wish to be more intentional in their liturgical practices and understand exactly what they are doing.
Liturgy for the Whole Church: Multigenerational Resources for Worship Bock, Susan K. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2008 9780898696028 A guide to intergenerational worship that is organized around the liturgical year. It includes group readings, simple dramas, meditations, storytelling, and an instructed Eucharist.
Lord, Open Our Lips NA New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1999 9780898693249 A resource designed to help presiders chant the liturgy. Includes 3 CDs of recorded demonstrations, as well printed service music, including texts for the Holy Eucharist, the Daily Office, Holy Baptism, and Proper Liturgies for Special Days.
Music and Vital Congregations: A Practical Guide for Clergy Roberts, William Bradley New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2009 9780898696233 Designed to assist clergy in building successful working relationships with musicians. This book also includes helpful practical advice for hiring musicians, dealing with music budgets, and other situations.
Musical Settings for Noonday and Compline Hurd, David, ed. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2002 0898691656 Musical settings for the Offices of Noonday Prayer and Compline in small booklet form. 23 copies.
Musicians in the Assembly: A Worship Handbook Farlee, Robert Buckley Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2001 0806642793 Written from a Lutheran perspective, this guide addresses very basic elements of musical leadership in the liturgy. It is part of a series of short guides in the Worship Handbook Series.
My Heart Sings Out: Teacher's Guide Vidal-White, Fiona, compiler and editor New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2006 9780898695014 Companion volume to the collection of hymns and songs for intergenerational worship. This guide included planning information and teaching suggestions geared towards the church school teacher or musician.
Opening the Prayer Book Lee, Jeffrey New York: Cowley Publications 1999 9781561011667 Part of The New Church's Teaching Series, this text is an introduction to the history and liturgies of the Episcopal Book of Common Prayer. The focus is on how the BCP shapes the worshipping church.
Poems of Grace: Texts of The Hymnal 1982 NA New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1998 9780898691580 A text-only version of The Hymnal 1982, intended for meditation and reflection. This work approaches the hymns as poetry apart from music.
Prayer Book Rubrics Expanded Stuhlman, Byron D. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1987 9780898691603 Stuhlman fleshes out the framework provided by rubrics within the Book of Common Prayer. This updated version also examines various supplemental resources to the BCP.
Prayers for Pastor and People Carlozzi, Carl G., compiler New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1984 9780898691085 A comprehensive collection of prayers from a wide variety of occasions within the Christian life. This resource would be invaluable for priests or pastors.
Praying the Scriptures: Litanies for Sunday Worship Williamson, Jeremiah D. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2014 9780898699203 Organized according to the liturgical year and the 3-year lectionary cycle, these litanies or prayers would also be appropriate for the Prayers of the People within the Holy Eucharist.
Praying Twice: The Music and Words of Congregational Song Wren, Brian Louisville: Westminster/John Knox Press 2000 0664256708 Famed hymn author Brian Wren looks at congregational singing and its theological importance. Other issues explored are contemporary worship music and the power of tune and text in the life and nurture of a congregation.
Preaching to the Choir: Claiming the Role of Sacred Musician Sirota, Victoria New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2006 9780898695281 A guide for exploring the relationships between church musicians and pastors. It also examines the spirituality of the church musician.
Prepare!: An Ecumenical Music and Worship Planners (2015-2016) Bone, David L. and Mary J. Scifres Nashville: Abingdon Press 2015 9781426798092 A liturgical, lectionary-based planning resource, with suggested hymns from 14 major denominational and ecumenical hymnals. Lectionary readings appear in full, along with music selections.
Psalter for Christian Worship Morgan, Michael Louisville: Witherspoon Press 1999 9781571530134 A metrical translation of the entire Psalter, including an index of meters and suggested hymn tunes.
Readings in African American Church Music and Worship, vol. 2 Abbington, James, compiler and editor Chicago: GIA 2014 9781622771004 A variety of readings by various authors on topics related to worship and music in the African-American tradition, including a section relating to women and gender.
Rise, O Church: Reflections on the Church, Its Music, and Empire Westermeyer, Paul Fenton, Missouri: MorningStar 2008 9780944529461 This book arose from the Mississippi Conference on Church Music and Liturgy in 2007. Westermeyer explores the interaction of sacred music and the world around it.
Rivals or a Team?: Clergy-Musician Relationships in the Twenty-first Century Guenther, Eileen St. Louis: MorningStar Music Publishers, Inc. 2012 9780944529546 A book focused on the importance of teamwork in collaborations between clergy and musicians. The issue of conflict in the church is also discussed through the lens of various church musician voices.
Shaped by Images: One who Presides Adams, William Seth New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1995 9780898696615 Explores the role of presider in light of the primacy of the baptized within the Christian community, especially with regard to the 1979 Book of Common Prayer.
Simplified Accompaniments: 97 Hymns from The Hymnal 1982 Williams, John E., ed. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1994 9780898691979 A supplement to the Hymnal 1982 designed for aiding music in small congregations. These are geared to the level of a 3rd year piano student.
Soli Deo Gloria: Choir Devotions for Year A Mueller, Craig M. Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2010 9780806698472 A series of choir devotions based on the liturgical year, including the lessons for each day. Each devotion includes space for rehearsal notes and announcements to be noted.
Soli Deo Gloria: Choir Devotions for Year B Baker-Trinity, Jennifer Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2011 9781451401493 A series of choir devotions based on the liturgical year, including the lessons for each day. Each devotion includes space for rehearsal notes and announcements to be noted.
Soli Deo Gloria: Choir Devotions for Year C Wold, Wayne Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2009 9780800663896 A series of choir devotions based on the liturgical year, including the lessons for each day. Each devotion includes space for rehearsal notes and announcements to be noted.
Songs and Prayers from Taizé   Chicago: GIA 1991 9780941050302 50 songs from the Taizé in small booklet form, with prayers as well. 18 copies.
Sundays and Seasons (Year B, 2015) NA Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2014 9781451425697 Planning resource for the Revised Common Lectionary, with suggestions for liturgical and musical content. Would be helpful for worship planners, leaders, preachers, presiding ministers, worship committees, musicians, visual artists, sacristans, and altar guilds.
Sundays and Seasons: Preaching (Year B, 2015) NA Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2014 9781451425758 Linked to the liturgical planning resource of the same series, this volume addresses preaching and how it can be solidly linked to the larger liturgical picture. It also includes comments and reflections from various scholars and theological voices.
Symbols and Terms of the Church Bangert, Mark P. Minneapolis: Fortress Press 1990 9780806625225 A short guide to various symbols and terms in liturgical use. Pictures accompany brief descriptions.
Te Deum: The Church and Music Westermeyer, Paul Minneapolis: Fortress Press 1998 9780800631468 A story of music in the Church, written through theological and historical lenses. The text is accessible for clergy, students, lay leaders, and church musicians.
The Bishop is Coming: A Practical Guide for Bishops and Congregations Marshall, Paul New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2007 9780898695247 Intended to aid clergy and congregations to prepare for episcopal visitations. The book can also be for bishops who wish to expand their own knowledge of their episcopal responsibilities.
The Church Musician (Revised Edition) Westermeyer, Paul Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 1997 9780806633992 A basic guide to church music. This text could also be a useful tool or handbook for church music leaders, pastors, and music committee members.
The Crafting of Liturgy: A Guide for Preparers Stevick, Daniel B. New York: The Church Hymnal Corporation 1990 089869177X A guide to creatively crafting liturgy within the Episcopal tradition, which looks at a number of key facets of the liturgy. Music is also mentioned.
The Emergent Psalter Everett, Isaac New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2009 9780898696172 Liturgical music for house churches and the emergent community. Includes notated antiphon melodies with chord symbols, as well as printed psalm texts, with brief histories of the psalms and selected psalm exegeses.
The Hymnal 1982   New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1985 9780898691450 Accompaniment edition to the Hymnal 1982, includes hymns and service music volumes.
The Liturgy Explained Farwell, James New York: Morehouse Publishing 2013 9780819228383 A practical and basic guide to the liturgy of the Episcopal Church. Accessible to laity with little knowledge and also helpful to more seasoned churchgoers.
The New Handbook of the Christian Year Hickman, Hoyt L., Don E. Saliers, Laurence Hull Stookey, and James F. White Nashville: Abingdon Press 1992 9780687277605 A source for worship materials based on the Christian Year. Includes lessons, prayers, responses, and services, all based on the Revised Common Lectionary.
The Portland Psalter: Responsorial Psalms for Congregation, Cantor, and Choir (Book One) Hawthorne, Robert A. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2002 9780898693843 A setting of newly-composed congregational psalms according to the Revised Common Lectionary. The resource also includes master indexes of psalms by number, refrain text, and liturgical use.
The Portland Psalter: Responsorial Psalms for Congregation, Cantor, and Choir (Book Two) Hawthorne, Robert A. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2006 9780898693980 A setting of newly-composed congregational psalms according to the Revised Common Lectionary. The resource also includes master indexes of psalms by number, refrain text, and liturgical use. Electronic files are available for download.
The Three-Day Feast: Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Ramshaw, Gail Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2004 9780806651156 A part of the Lutheran series on Worship Matters. This book discusses the Sacred Triduum of Holy Week: Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Easter.
The Wideness of God's Mercy: Litanies to Enlarge Our Prayer Rowthorn, Jeffrey W. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2007 9780898695755 Inspired by contemporary rediscovery of the Prayers of the People, this collection of prayers covers a wide variety of situations. In addition to being used publicly, these prayers and litanies could be used for private devotion.
The Worshiping Body: The Art of Leading Worship Long, Kimberly Bracken Louisville: Westminster/John Knox Press 2009 9780664233112 This book focuses on the importance of physical actions by worship leaders. It is organized according to various body parts: eyes, ears, lips, hands, feet, and heart.
Times and Seasons: Creating Transformative Worship throughout the Year Giles, Richard New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2008 9780898696134 Liturgist Richard Giles examines the Christian liturgical year and explores ways in which music, drama, silence, color, and visual representation can be used to enliven liturgical celebrations. Giles includes musical suggestions, pictures of ritual actions, and other practical planning advice.
Voices Found: Leader's Guide Haskel, Marilyn and Lisa Neufeld Thomas New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2004 978089863683 The accompaniment edition for the hymnal supplement Voices Found.
Welcome to Church Music and The Hymnal 1982 Hoch, Matthew New York: Morehouse Publishing 2015 9780819229427 A helpful and comprehensive short guide to musical matters within the Episcopal tradition. This would be an excellent resource for newcomers to the Episcopal Church or for seasoned Episcopalians wanting to learn more about their tradition.
What Song Shall We Sing? Ylvisaker, John Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2005 0806651490 A part of the Lutheran series on Worship Matters. Ylvisaker argues for a fusion of musical styles.
What Would Jesus Sing?: Experimentation and Tradition in Church Music Haskel, Marilyn, ed. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 2007 9780898695632 With chapters written by various musical voices, this books discusses the numerous styles of church music, from jazz, guitar music, and handbell music, to Taizé and Compline. This source would be particularly useful for any church musician tasked with creatively expanding an already-existing music program.
Why Worship Matters Rimbo, Robert A. Minneapolis: Augsburg Fortress 2004 9780806651088 A part of the Lutheran series on Worship Matters. This book is a simple guide to basic elements and meanings of liturgy and worship.
With Every Joyful Hearts: Essays on Liturgy and Music Honoring Marion J. Hatchett Alexander, J. Neil, ed. New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1999 9780898693218 A series of essays on various facets of the liturgy, from within the Episcopal tradition. Subjects include both liturgy and music.
Wonder, Love, and Praise: A Supplement to The Hymnal 1982 Hooker, John New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1997 9780898692686 Leader's guide to this supplementary hymnal to the Hymnal 1982.
Words of Our Worship: A Liturgical Dictionary Guilbert, Charles Mortimer New York: Church Publishing, Inc. 1988, 2001 0898691788 Compiled by the former Custodian of the Book of Common Prayer, this guide is a dictionary for all liturgical terms from ablutions to zucchetto.
Worship and Spirituality (2nd ed.) Saliers, Don E. Maryville, TN: OSL Publications 1996 1878009273 Designed as a seminary textbook, but accessible to all laity, this book connects the biblical story to worship and sacrament. Saliers urges readers to recover their center in intentional worship.
Worship Is a Verb: Celebrating God's Mighty Deeds of Salvation Webber, Robert E. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers 2004 9781565632424 Argues for biblical worship that focuses on the story of God. The goal is to inspire fresh, spiritually-rooted and Biblically grounded worship.