Skip to main content

Bishop Payne Library Ebook Collections

Bishop Payne Library subscribes to the EBSCOhost and ebrary ebook collections. here are instructions for use.

About the eBook Collections

Bishop Payne Library first subscribed to EBSCOhost and ebrary ebook collections in fiscal year 2013-2014.  Reading the books while online and connected to the internet has been successful, and we have continued the subscriptions, and expanded our collections beyond those initial subscriptions.  We encourage you to read the books online and to download the chapter PDFs for offline reading. 

We recognize that the technical barriers for downloading the full content in the Adobe Digital Editions reader is frustrating, and we are now adding collections such as the Project Muse collections (including the Hermeneia series) which emphasize PDF downloads.

We are eager to hear your feedback about the products, and will continue to select from developing ebook options for VTS.

About our subscriptions

Q.  Do I have to download the ebook to my computer/device?

A.   No, the easiest way to vew the content is in the browser window on your computer or device.  We provide more instructions here about downloading because that process needs the most technical explanation. Choose "PDF downloads vs. full ebook download" on the left to learn about these options.

Q.  Is the operation of all the ebooks the same?

A.  No. We have ebooks from 2 main vendors - large subscriptions in all subjects from EBSCO and Proquest Ebook Central, EBSCO's religion-specific subscription, and individual purchases from those two vendors. The sites are different, but functionality is similar on these sites.   Our Twentieth Century Religious Thought collection uses online-only technology.  In 2018-2019, we added a new resource collection, Project Muse, which includes the Hermeneia commentary collection, and relies on Adobe (Acrobat) reader PDF documents.  We also provide e-reference books such as those from Oxford Biblical Studies Online, whose website is more proprietary and integrated into their own platform.

Q. Are all books being published today available in ebook form?

A. We want to emphasize that the scope of what's available in ebook form is dependent on individual publisher's license agreements. In Spring 2013, we found that less than 20% of books on reserve for VTS courses were available in ebook form, and many times not the specific edition the professor had selected. Not all ebooks are available for library lending either. Many Kindle ebooks are for purchase only by individuals, and cannot be loaned by libraries.  We need to update that study of what portion of content is available to libraries for ebook lending now, because the marketplace has been changing swiftly.

Q. Can I search inside the content of the books as well as searching authors and titles?

A. We load the records for all our ebooks into the library catalog, so that you can search ebook and print together. The library catalog does not search the full-text of the books. However, when you search the vendor's site (from the Electronic Resources page) you are searching the content as well as the catalog information. We would also point out that your results in searching the full text of ebooks may appear to reveal a surprising number of pertinent items. You can choose the advanced search to limit your search terms to subject or titles in order to find books that are more wholly focused on your search terms.

 

Email me for help

If you'd like to schedule an appointment for help in setting up your device, email Cindy Harper at charper@vts.edu or drop by the library between 8:30-5:30 MTThF, or 1:30-10 PM W.  We know the multiple logins are confusing, but once it's set up, it works well.

Back to Library Catalog