Skip to main content

Bible - Exegetical Resources: Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • The Anchor Bible Dictionary.  New York: Doubleday, 1992.    Ref BS440.A539 1992
  • The New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible. Nashville: Abingdon, 2006-2009.    Ref BS440.N5323 2006
  • Coogan, Michael D., ed. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011. 2 vols.      Ref BS440.O984 2011
  • Klauck, Hans-Josef, et al., eds. Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception. New York : Walter de Gruyter, 2009-.  Ref BS440.E56 2009 (5 vols in print; 30 expected)
  • Vanhoozer, Kevin J. ed. Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2005.  Ref BS440.D5537 2005
  • Stanley E. Porter, ed. Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation. New York: Routledge, 2007.  Ref BS440.D5538 2007
  • Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation.  Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1999.    Ref BS500.D5541 1999
  • Kee, Howard Clark, et al., eds. Cambridge Companion to the Bible. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008.  Ref BS475.3.C178 2008
  • Sawyer, John F.A. A Concise Dictionary of the Bible and Its Reception. Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press, 2009.   Ref BS440.S271 2009
  • Rogerson, J. W. and Judith M. Lieu, eds. The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006. Ref BS511.3.O98 2006
  • Powell, Mark Allan, ed. The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary. Revised and updated. New York: HarperOne, 2011. Ref BS440.H295 2011
  • Whitaker, Richard E., and John R. Kohlenberger. The Analytical Concordance to the New Revised Standard Version of the New Testament. Grand Rapids, Mich: W.B. Eerdmans Pub, 2000. Ref BS2305.W5785 2000

 

Subject Guide

Mitzi Budde's picture
Mitzi Budde
Contact:
703-461-1756